The Movistar Team is the longest standing structure in professional cycling, its origins rooting back to the early 70’s and officially established in 1980. Winners of 7 Tours de France, 3 Giros d’Italia and 3 Vueltas a España, they’ve been sponsored by Telefónica since 2011. Famous names in its current roster include 4-time UCI WorldTour champion and Vuelta a España winner Alejandro Valverde, 2014 Giro d’Italia champion Nairo Quintana and former UCI Hour Record holder Alex Dowsett.

Seven riders have been shortlisted for the six-man team that will feature at this Sunday’s UCI World Time Trial Championships, including national champions Dowsett (United Kingdom, 1988), Adriano Malori (Italy, 1988) and Jonathan Castroviejo (Spain, 1987). 2014 Vuelta a España stage victor Winner Anacona (Colombia, 1988); Costa Rica’s Andrey Amador (1986), 4th-placed in this year’s Giro d’Italia; two-time under-23 German champion Jasha Sütterlin (1992) and the recent winner of the Tour of Poland, Ion Izagirre (Spain, 1989), complete the group. Eight TT victories have been obtained combining the riders present at the shortlist.

Riders will change their team outfits for national squad wear the following week at the individual time trial (Wednesday 23rd) and the road race (Sunday 27th). Imanol Erviti will be an addition to the Spanish group in the RR supporting title contender Valverde -Amador, Anacona, Izagirre and Juanjo Lobato also to compete there-, while Malori and Dowsett will be strong candidates for the medals in the TT -Castroviejo will ride all three-.

Normal 0 false false false EN-US X-NONE X-NONE

Normal 0 false false false EN-US X-NONE X-NONE MicrosoftInternetExplorer4

Categories: Community Events

Subscribe to Our Blog